Sophistication – Thisbe Vos

An Album of “Sophistication” from Dutch-born jazz vocalist and composter, Thisbe Vos


     Album: Sophistication

     Atrist: Thisbe Vos

     Record Label: Prime Productions



Sophistication is the aptly titled, debut solo CD of LA-based vocalist, composer, and producer, Thisbe Vos. The album is a well honed collection of classics from “the American song book” and original compositions.

Vos together with a sextet of veteran L.A. session musicians Henry Franklin (acoustic bass), Gary Matsumoto & Larry Flahive (acoustic piano), Donald Dean (drums), Nolan Shaheed (trumpet), George Harper (sax), Geoff Nudell (clarinet) weave a sonic tapestry worthy of the term classic.

The silky and elegant vocals of Vos are a wonderful fit with the classic selections like Gershwin’s, “Baby Won’ You Please Come Home” and “A Foggy Day” (in London Town). While the original tunes are so well crafted and superbly executed, they’ll have you checking the liner notes to tell the originals from the classics.

The title track, “Sophistication,” may be the best testament to her abilities as a composer and lyricist, but the seductive interplay between Vos’ vocals and Harper’s sax on “When I Come to You,” makes it a personal favorite of the six original compositions.

From the slow-tempo take on the classic, “My Favorite Things” to the first song Vos ever wrote, an up-tempo piece called “Pordenone,” it is a refreshing sonic experience and an album worthy of its title – Sophistication.



1. House of Make Believe (Thisbe Vos)

2. The Frim Fram Sauce (Joe Ricardel/Redd Evans)

3. After You’ve Gone (Thisbe Vos)

4. They Can’t Take That Away From Me (George Gershwin/Ira Gershwin)

5. My Favorite Things (Richard Rodgers/Oscar Hammerstein II)

6. When I Come To You (Thisbe Vos)

7. Baby Won’ You Please Come Home (Charles Warfield/Clarence Williams)

8. Sophistication (Thisbe Vos)

9. A Foggy Day (In London Town) (George Gershwin/Ira Gershwin)

10. Pordenone (Thisbe Vos)

11. I Am All Right (Thisbe Vos)

12 .Our Love Is Here to Stay (George Gershwin/Ira Gershwin)




Fatal error: Uncaught Exception: 12: REST API is deprecated for versions v2.1 and higher (12) thrown in /home/jazzfide/public_html/wp-content/plugins/seo-facebook-comments/facebook/base_facebook.php on line 1273